Jun 22, 2023Investments

Land Measurement Units: Common Units Used in India

by Godrej Properties Limited



Common Land Measurement Table:

Unit of AreaConversion Unit
1 Square Feet (sq ft)144 square inches
1 Square Centimeter (sq cm)Approximately 0.00107639 sq ft
1 Square Inch (sq in)Approximately 0.0069444 sq ft
1 Square Kilometer (sq km)Approximately 247.1 acres
1 Square Meter (sq m)Approximately 10.764 sq ft
1 Square Mile640 acres or 259 hectares
1 Square Yard (sq yd)9 sq ft
1 Acre4840 sq yd or 100.04 cents
1 HectareApproximately 10,000 sq m or 2.49 acres

These conversions are commonly used for property and land survey measurements.

Here are a few common conversions for land measurement:

1 acre in bigha1 acre = 1.613 bigha
bigha to acre1 Bigha = 0.619 acres
acre to bigha1 Acre = 1.613 bigha
1 hectare into bigha1 Hectare = 3.953 bigha
1 bigha in square feet1 Bigha = 27,000 sqft
1 bigha in gaj1 Bigha = 3057.68 gaj

Common Land Measurement Units

North India

1 Bigha
Parts of Himachal Pradesh (HP), Uttarakhand1210 sqyd
1 BiswaParts of HP,  Uttarakhand48.4 sqyd
1 BiswansiUP, Punjab, Haryana, HP, Uttarakhand1/20 Biswa1 Biswa = 20 Biswansis
1 Killa/1 GhumaonParts of Haryana, Punjab, HP4840 sqyd 
1 KanalJK, Punjab, HP, Haryana5445 sqft8 Kanals = 1 Acre

South India

1 AnkanamParts of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka72 sqft,1 Acre = 605 Ankanams
1 CentTamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka435.6 sqft
1 GroundParts of Tamil Nadu2400 sqft
1 GunthaAndhra Pradesh, Karnataka 1089 sqft
1 KunchamAndhra Pradesh484 sqyd,1 Kuncham = 10 cents

East India

1 ChatakWest Bengal180 sqft
1 DecimalWest Bengal48.4 sqyd1 Acre = 100 decimals
1 DhurBihar, Jharkhand68.0625 sqft
1 KatthaAssam2880 sqft,1 Bigha = 5 Katthas
1 KatthaBengal720 sqft,1 Bigha = 20 Katthas
1 KatthaBihar1361.25 sqft,1 Bigha = 20 Katthas
1 LechaAssam20 Lechas = 1 Kattha

West India

1 BighaBihar, parts of RajasthanPucca 3025 sqyd
1 BighaGujarat, parts of Rajasthan1936 sqyd
1 BiswaUpper parts of RajasthanPucca 151.25 sqyd
1 BiswaLower parts of Rajasthan96.8 sqyd
1 BiswansiRajasthan1/20 Biswa,1 Biswa = 20 Biswansis

Central India

1 BighaParts of Madhya Pradesh1333.33 sqyd
1 KatthaMadhya Pradesh1 Bigha (MP) = 20 Kathas, 600 sqft

Different regions across India use different area measurement units. Hence, it's advisable to understand how to measure land using various land measurement conversions before finalising transactions.

Difference Between a Plot and a Ground

Before purchasing a plot or land(ground) it is important to understand the difference between the two. While the terms "plot" and "ground" are often used interchangeably, especially in the context of property listings, there is a subtle difference between them. A "plot" typically refers to any piece of land, regardless of size. It is a general term used to describe land for various purposes, including residential, commercial, or agricultural use.

On the other hand, a "ground" is a specific land measurement unit often used in South India, particularly in states like Tamil Nadu. One ground is equivalent to 2400 square feet or 24 "cents." It is primarily used for measuring land in urban and residential contexts.

What Is the Difference Between Square Meter (sq m) and Hectare?

The terms "square meter" (sq m) and "hectare" are both units of area measurement used globally, including in India. Here's the difference between them:

Square Meter (sq m): Square Meter (sq m): This metric unit measures a small area, defined by a one-meter square. It's commonly used for precise measurements like real estate.

Hectare (ha): This larger unit is used for broader measurements, like agricultural land. One hectare equals about 10,000 square meters or 2.47105 acres.

Frequently asked questions

1. Who measures land in India?

Ans: Land or plot measurement is done by officers such as Tehsildars, Revenue Inspectors, and Patwaris.

2. What are common global land measuring units in India?

Ans: Common global land measuring units referenced in India include Acre and Hectare.

Previous Post
Next Post